The Easy Yes funnel strategy to make Facebook ads pay you back from Day 1

Every business needs a regular injection of new prospective customers to generate consistent sales. People can connect with your business in a number of ways, and I want to share a simple to implement funnel strategy is one I always recommend to my clients, and use myself to make Facebook ads pay back from Day 1. With this strategy, you will delight potential new clients and reduce the cost of finding new leads and customers for your business.
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Set yourself up for success with Facebook ads

Before you jump right into spending money on Facebook ads, organic marketing is the best way to validate your offers with your audience before you start with ads. Knowing what your audience will put their hand up for with a track record of organic sales sets you up to accelerate growth through paid traffic strategies. With an offer you know people want to buy from you, Facebook ads can help you accelerate your business growth by consistently reaching more people than organic marketing or reliance on content going viral will.While Facebook ads are still the easiest way to reach your ideal clients on Facebook and Instagram, it’s not as easy as it used to be. You definitely need to have a strategic approach to get the most out of your ad spend.If you want to learn proven Facebook ad strategies to consistently grow your business with high quality leads head over to check out ADvisory

 
What offers are part of your customer’s journey to work with you?

When I create new Facebook ads campaigns I always know the plan of offers along the customer journey so I’m confident Facebook ads will be profitable.It’s rare for an offer to be profitable from ads to a cold audience straight out of the gate. It does happen, but it’s more of an exception than the rule.For this reason, your funnel must have different priced offers or ways to work with you that new leads can purchase that suit their stage so your investment in lead generation is recouped soon after they’ve opted in and anything they purchase from you afterwards is pure profit.

 
What lead costs can you expect from Facebook ads?
Let’s start with what it might cost to find leads on Facebook and Instagram. Lead costs can vary depending on your offer, especially if you want quality leads, that is, people who will buy from you again and again.
 
You won’t know what your lead costs are for your offers until you start running ads, but as a guideline, you might expect webinar leads to cost around $10, freebie lead magnet leads to cost between $2 to $6, and if you’re running a challenge leads could cost between $5 to $10 per lead.
 
This is an upfront investment to get new leads entering your sales funnels from your advertised offers.
 
If you plan to spend between $200 and $1000 every month to get 100 leads into your sales funnel, wouldn’t it be great if part (or all) of this cost was offset right at the time your new lead opted in?
This is when you want to include an irresistible tripwire, order bump and upsell offers to pay for your ad spend so anything purchased after opting in is more profitable.
 
When someone purchases from you they become a customer and existing customers are more likely to purchase from you again in the future. Buyers buy again which means you’ve got an engaged warm audience who will most likely want more.

 

What makes an upsell an easy yes?
 When you’re using ads to expand your reach and attract new potential clients to your business, you don’t want to rely solely on sales from your signature offer to generate all of your revenue to cover your costs, pay yourself and make a profit!
 
Until you’ve built your list and have a warm audience of enough people who’ve engaged with your content, your offer will be in front of people who’ve never heard of you, don’t know what you do and don’t know why they should buy from you.
 
You’ve got to persuade an ice-cube-cold audience it’s a no-brainer to find out more about you and how you can help them level up.
 
That’s ok, as long as you have an offer they want and your upsells are an easy yes for them you can make back some or all of your ad spend from your Facebook ads.
 
Don’t make the mistake of creating an upsell as an afterthought.
Oh no, no, no, don’t do that!
 
The mistake many people make is creating their lead magnet first then their upsell.
 
You need to think backwards from the higher priced offer that you ultimately want people to buy and is the most profitable.
 
Every step your new lead takes after opting in for your lead magnet has to be intentionally created to solve a small problem, then another small problem, that actually creates a strong need and leads them to purchase your ultimate offer…
 
Like opening their favourite tub of ice cream…
 
Once they taste the first spoonful, it’s hard to say no to another spoonful.
 
 
What is a tripwire?
 A tripwire in online marketing is a paid offer straight after opting in for a free lead magnet. It’s typically an offer that is easy to say yes to and affordable so it’s a quick decision to purchase. Tripwire funnels are the best way to turn freebie seekers into buyers quickly.
 
You can always test different pricing to see what your audience is prepared to pay. The idea is the price of the tripwire will cover some or all of the cost to win new leads.
 
This is the flow of a tripwire funnel.
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How does a tripwire reduce lead costs from Facebook ads?
Let’s say you’ve got a free lead magnet with a $7 tripwire offer behind it and your average lead magnet cost is $3.00.
 
For 100 leads you’ve spent $300 and working on good tripwire conversion rates being between 30% to 50%, you might expect the tripwire to contribute between $210 to $350 making your ads virtually pay for themselves!
 
This means you also have between 30 to 50 people who have not only opted in for your free lead magnet but they’ve also purchased something from you turning them into buyers!
 
The best part about this strategy is you can test the price of your tripwires. As long as it’s an easy yes and makes sense to purchase.
 
Another example is, if your tripwire cost is $11 and your lead costs are higher, say $6.00 a lead for 100 leads, based on a tripwire conversion rate of 20%, your tripwire would still contribute $220 reducing your average lead cost from $6.00 to $3.80 because you’ve paid $380 instead of $600 to have 100 people opt in, and 20 new buyers.
 
If your tripwire is $17 that contribution for the same benchmarks would be $340 halving your ad costs!
 
 
What are some examples of tripwire offers?
As I mentioned before, the best offers for tripwire and upsells are offers that align with your main offer but solve a problem that is a relevant part of your main offer.
Good examples of tripwires are:
 
  • Plug and Play templates
  • Calculators
  • Productivity tools
  • Workflow Plans
  • Mindset tools
  • Strategy guides
  • Social media prompts
 
How can you make your tripwire funnel even more profitable?
Once someone has bought from you the likelihood that they will buy from you again skyrockets. So the best time to ask someone to buy more from you is immediately after they’ve just bought from you.
 
You’ve helped them with solving the problem they have and they’ve invested in their future goal and success so another offer after the tripwire might just turn a freebie opt in that converted into a $7 purchase to spend even more.
 
For example, if you have a digital product that offered incredible value as a one-time offer for $97, you’ve just turned that $3.00 lead into a $104 purchase.
 
This is how people can afford to run ads to low priced offers. It’s the offers behind the lead magnet that make their Facebook ads campaign profitable for them.
 
So, take the time to think through the offers you could add to your lead magnet funnel and choose 2 that you can include as a tripwire and order bump or one-time-offer (OTO).
 
If you’re strategic about your offers, you could easily make your Facebook ads profitable from day 1, rather than focus your lead generation around a free lead magnet that attracts a list of freebie seekers you hope might buy from you someday.
 
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About the Author

Norleena jumped off the corporate ladder after almost 20 years in sales. After starting her family late in life she decided she was done with 70+ hour work weeks, interstate travel and corporate culture. Her entrepreneurial spirit was calling.

It was time to do her own thing and have flexibility while raising her 3 boys. She started a lifestyle photography business, and launched a physical product on Amazon that she had to quit at a loss just as it was gaining momentum because the pandemic struck. This experience led her to dive deep into copywriting, paid ads strategies and sales funnels.

A Certified Elite Ad Manager, Facebook ads coach, and Funnel Pro strategist, Norleena helps clients use Facebook ads and funnel strategies to monetise their offers and generate consistently profitable revenue every month.

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